Sunday interview: Anne Whitfield

Anne Whitfield

Marketing is a long term project, so stick with it, says Anne Whitfield. Anne’s latest novel, Gossamer Wings, was published last month. She also has her own blog.

1. What kinds of marketing have you done as an author?

I’ve created postcards, brochures and bookmarks featuring my books. I give these out and send them to bookstores. I’ve gone to bookstores and libraries to see if they will allow me to do book signings or sign stock. Aside from my website, I’ve also created a blog, and pages on MySpace and Squidoo. I have author days in yahoo groups. I’ve joined writers’ groups online and in the flesh and I go to conferences where I can to mingle.

2. What marketing did your publishers do?

My publishers are only small but they do send out my book for reviews and attend trade conferences to showcase the company, plus they advertise in readers’/publishing magazines.

3. What essential things about marketing did you learn that you wish you had known from the start?

That not everything you do will be successful. To have patience. Sometimes you will be let down by distributors/shipping etc so if possible have some copies of your book with you. Never leave the house without some form of promotion in your bag.

4. What did you learn during your experiences of trying to market your books?

That spending a lot of money on promotion won’t always get results. Word of mouth should never be underestimated.

5. What is the most successful piece of marketing that you have done?

Meeting bookshop managers face to face, and head librarians. In most cases they are friendly and helpful. Always leave them something they can give their customers, like bookmarks.

6. What advice would you give for authors starting out with marketing their books?

My advice would be to stick with it, even when it looks like you aren’t getting the results you want. It’s a long term project and can be hard work, but it can also be satisfying too.

Sometimes you don’t have to spend a lot of money to get sales. Keep several bookmarks with you at all times. It is amazing how often you’ll hand them out. Don’t be shy, don’t be pushy either, but find the balance. Be confident in yourself and in your book.

1 Comment

Filed under Author interviews

One response to “Sunday interview: Anne Whitfield

  1. What a great blog. I just found it, thanks to Amanda Ashby. I’ve just started marketing my first book and I appreciate the advice. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

